Talent Search at WSCC

TS UA Trip

WHAT IS TALENT SEARCH?

  • Talent Search is a TRIO program funded by the U.S. Department of Education to provide services for students in grades 6-12. Its primary focus is to assist students and parents with a variety of activities involved in getting a student ready to attend college. Some of the FREE activities include:
  • Academic Advising
  • ACT Prep Class
  • Career Exploration
  • College Information
  • College Visit
  • Cultural Enrichment/Activity/Field Trip
  • Dual Enrollment Assistance
  • Dual Enrollment FAFSA Completion
  • Dual Enrollment Information
  • Development of College – Motivation, Attitude, Behavior
  • Financial Literacy Information
  • Scholarship Information
  • College Admissions Assistance
  • FAFSA Assistance and/or Completion
  • Study and Test Taking Skills
  • Tutorial Service

HOW CAN YOU PARTICIPATE?

To participate in the Talent Search Program, a student must complete a Talent Search Application Form. If you are in the 6TH THROUGH 12TH Grade (or under the age of 27 working on your GED), and you are interested in participating in Talent Search, complete a TALENT SEARCH APPLICATION.

HOW DOES IT WORK?

Talent Search staff visit area middle and high schools to work with students who desire these services. Counselors typically visit schools a few times each month to meet with high school students in small groups or individually to discuss annual goals and complete activities designed to prepare students for college. Additionally, students are invited to participate in large group events, such as visits to college campuses.

Click here to apply for the WSCC Talent Search Program

CONTACT:

Phone: 256-352-8230 or Email: talentsearchwscc@gmail.com

SCHEDULE A VIRTUAL APPOINTMENT BELOW:

Todd Abbott: https://calendly.com/todd-abbott

Evelyn Timmons: https://calendly.com/evelyn-timmons

Dakota Nichols: https://calendly.com/dakotanichols

Paula Graham: https://calendly.com/paula-graham

Savana Weissend: https://calendly.com/savana-weissend

TALENT SEARCH STAFF:

Todd Abbott, Director - todd.abbott@wallacestate.edu

Shiela Mosley, Secretary - shiela.mosley@wallacestate.edu

Evelyn Timmons, Counselor - evelyn.timmons@wallacestate.edu

Dakota Nichols, Counselor - dakota.nichols@wallacestate.edu

Paula Graham, Counselor - paula.graham@wallacestate.edu

Savana Weissend, Counselor - savana.weissend@wallacestate.edu

Learn more about the federal Talent Search program here, and check out our Wallace State Talent Search social media pages: 

  

SCHOOLS SERVED BY TALENT SEARCH:

Cullman County: Cold Springs High School, Fairview High School, Good Hope High School, Hanceville High School, Holly Pond High School, Vinemont High School, West Point High School

Blount County: Appalachian, Cleveland High School, Hayden High School, JB Pennington, Susan Moore

Marshall County: Douglas High School

Morgan County: Brewer, Falkville High School

Educational Talent Search is funded by a grant from the U.S. Department of Education for $415,920 yearly, P044A210756.  


Talent Search – Wallace State Community College
PO Box 2000
801 Main Street NW
Hanceville, AL 35077
Tel: 256-352-8230
Fax: 256-352-8319

APPLY & REGISTER SCHEDULE OF CLASSES TOUR CAMPUS REQUEST INFO